Boss fights

Every six months I text my family letting them know I am alive and safe. 

Being shunned by my family has caused so much conflict and pain in my heart. I felt abandoned, inconsistent, lost and worthless. But I also learned something from that experience.

I learned that unconditional love has no bounds. That if someone truly loved me unconditionally they would love me even despite not agreeing with my transgressions or lifestyle choices. I learned that I had the power to love myself more than anyone else could and therefore it was my responsibility to take care of me and that meant even in the most painful situations I had to choose me.

But the most important thing I took away from this experience is the understanding that I’m okay alone. I love who I have become it may not be what others wanted for me and there maybe people with strong opinions about what I should and shouldn’t do with my life… in the end all that matters is what I need to do when it comes to my life. Some days I am filled with anxiety and worry. But when I think of what I went through to get where I am.. worrying and anxiety don’t seem so bad.

As I went through hard situations I forced myself to beat the bosses with the highest score and most prestigious ways. It means more to me about how I conduct myself during a boss fight then the ending result. With that being said. I make choices that reflect my core values and moral standards I set for the life I live. That’s why texting my Ex-father-in-law every 6 months to a year to check in, is so important to me. It reflects my moral code, my sense of honor, and my unwavering respect even despite the responses I receive or lack of responses I receive. 

I am happy to say I am winning the boss fights of my past. Some of them I barely scooted away with just a sliver of health but I still won. 

Leave a Reply

